The Louisiana Sports Writers Association


2018 Miss Basketball
By Jim Derry

There's no question this was a year of redemption for Ursuline's Kourtney Weber. And she seized the moment with a thunderous bang.

After missing nearly all of her junior season with a torn anterior cruciate ligament, Weber came back in the 2017-18 season by averaging just over 23 points per game, and she did better than that in the LHSAA state tournament in Alexandria.

In the Division II semifinals against Loyola Prep and the 27-point state championship victory over Lee Magnet, Weber was dominating, scoring combined 48 points with 25 rebounds.

"With the hard work I put in last summer and through the season, it feels great," Weber said after the title victory. "Last year was tough to sit and watch, but we came out strong this season.

"I am like the floor general. I can't stand when things go wrong, so I keep the other kids in check. ... Both wins are special, but I think sitting a year out and coming back and winning in my final game is more special."

As a result of her efforts, Weber is named the Louisiana Farm Bureau/LSWA Miss Basketball. She also was named the Gatorade State Player of the Year last month.

As a sophomore, Weber made the Class 4A All-State team as a sophomore and was named the Player of the Year in 2016, and repeated the feat earlier this month. Her teammate, Brooklyn Mitchell, was named to the 4A second team in 2015-16 and first team in 2016-17 before also incurring a knee injury and missing her entire senior season.

Louisiana Miss Basketball 
Farm Bureau/Louisiana Sports Writers Association Miss Basketball winners: 

1996: Judy Clark, Singer 
1997: Kisha James, Pineville 
1998: Kisha James, Pineville 
1999: Ashley Antony, Anacoco 
2000: Alana Beard, Southwood-Shreveport 
2001: Seimone Augustus, Capitol-BR 
2002: Seimone Augustus, Capitol-BR 
2003: Katie Antony, Anacoco 
2004: Quianna Chaney, Southern Lab 
2005: Courtnee Hollins, Fairview 
2006: Alexis Rack, Franklin 
2007: Tarkeisha Wysinger, Many 
2008: Deana Allen, Ellender 
2009: Kylie Leonards, Fairview
2010: Theresa Plaisance, Vandebilt Catholic
2011: Tina Roy, Kaplan
2012: Lulu Perry, Benton
2013: La’Dencia Johnson, Rayville
2014: Kalani Brown, Salmen
2015: Kalani Brown, Salmen
2016: Cara Ursin, Destrehan
2017: Cara Ursin, Destrehan
2018: Kortney Weber, Ursuline