Distinguished Service Award

Presented to the person or persons for their professional accomplishments and impact in local, state, regional and national arenas:

1982 --- Bill Keefe, New Orleans Times-Picayune

             Paul Martin, Monroe News-Star

             Bud Montet, Baton Rouge Advocate

             Truman Stacy, Lake Charles American Press

1983 --- Jack Fiser, Shreveport Times

1984 --- John Ferguson, LSU/New Orleans Saints radio

1985 --- Dan Hardesty, Baton Rouge State-Times

1986 --- Paul Manasseh, LSU Sports Information

1987 --- Ted Castillo. Baton Rouge Advocate

1988 --- Bil Carter, Alexandria Daily Town Talk

1989 --- Peter Finney, New Orleans Times-Picayune

             Bob Roesler, New Orleans Times-Picayune

1990 --- Collie Nicholson, Grambling Sports Information

1991 --- Fred Digby, New Orleans Item/Sugar Bowl

1992 --- Connie Kaplan, The Kaplan Herald

1993 --- Austin Wilson, The Associated Press

             M.L. Lagarde, Tulane University

1994 --- Bob Anderson, Northeast Louisiana Sports Information

             Bernell Ballard, Baton Rouge Advocate

1995 --- Jim McLain, Shreveport Times

1996 --- Jerry Byrd, Shreveport Journal/Bossier Press-Tribune

             Joe Planas, Baton Rouge Advocate/Catholic Commentator

1997 --- Roger Brandt, Opelousas Daily World

1998 --- Hal Ledet, New Orleans Times-Picayune/L'Observateur

1999 --- Al Nassif, Alexandria Daily Town Talk

            Bob Henderson, Southwestern Louisiana

2000 --- Sam King, Baton Rouge Advocate

             Jerry Pierce, Northwestern State University

            Gerry Robichaux, Shreveport Times

2001 --- Bud Johnson, LSU and Tulane

2003 --- Bill Curl, Tulane and Louisiana Superdome

2004 --- Keith Prince, Louisiana Tech/Monroe News Star

2005 --- Buddy Diliberto, New Orleans Item/WDSU-TV/WWL-Radio

2006 --- Marty Mule, New Orleans Times-Picayune

             Jim Wynn, Alexandria Town Talk/Abbeville Meridional

2007 --- Pete Dosher, Louisiana Tech/Grambling

             Arthur Schott, New Orleans Baseball historian

2008 --- Ed McHale, The Associated Press

             R.L. Stockard, Southwestern Athletic Conference

2009 --- O.K. "Buddy" Davis, Ruston Daily Leader

             Bob Griffin, KSLA-TV, Shreveport

2010 -- Ted Lewis, New Orleans Times-Picayune

            Norm Fletcher, Natchitoches broadcaster 

2011 -- Ron Brocato, The Clarion-Herald

           Larry Hymel, Southeastern Louisiana University

2012 - Butch Muir, The Baton Rouge Advocate

          Bill Bumgarner, The Times-Picayune

2013 -- Bob Marshall, The Times-Picayune

2014 -- Joe Macaluso, The Baton Rouge Advocate

2015 -- Bobby Dower, Lake Charles American Press

            Glenn Quebedeaux, The Daily Iberian

2016 -- Jim Hawthorne, The Voice of LSU

           Bob Thompkins, The Alexandria Town Talk

2017 -- Jim Henderson, Sportscaster WWL, The Voice of the Saints, 

           Dan McDonald, McD Media

 2018 -- Scooter Hobbs, Lake Charles American Press

              Lyn Rollins, Broadcaster

2019 -- Dave Nitz, Broadcaster, Louisiana Tech

            Philip Timothy, Journalist